Sunday, August 19, 2018
Maximum network users in use!
Maximum network users in use!

When more than the allotted number of licensed users access a First Edition application, the following message will appear:

This is a legitimate error message that notifies the user that the maximum number of licensed users are in First Edition. Confirm the number of user licenses by viewing the Helpp screen in Transactions under Help/Network Licenses. The number of Network Licenses should be at least one.

However, you are the only user in First Edition. Why do I still get that error message?

  

There are several other possibilities as to why you get this message. Launching multiple First Edition applications such as the Transaction program and, for example, the Accounting Reports program, each constitutes the use of one license. So, if your assistant is already in Transactions and the Accounting Reports, and you go into Transactions, then that would make 3 licenses. You would get this message if your license is for only 2 users.

 

If a workstation(s) are shutdown without properly exiting First Edition applications as described above, the Pervasive Database Engine  doesn’t know that the user is no longer in the application. It counts as a user license until Pervasive is restarted. The same applies if there is a power failure or other hardware error that causes the workstation to fail. A hard error in a First Edition application, a network error, or a Windows operating system error can also cause this to happen.

 

The solution is for all users to exit First Edition and restart your workstations. If the message still appears, make sure there are no users in First Edition, then ask your IT department to do one of the following: restart the Pervasive Services on the server that Pervasive Server version is installed, delete Active Users using the Pervasive Monitor on the server, or restart the server.

Note: see also "Record in Use"

Note: see also "Pervasive Monitor"

When exiting a First Edition application program such as the Transaction program, you should click File/Logout. This insures that the users' license becomes available in the event another user should log into First Edition.


Posted on Tuesday, November 4, 2008 (Archive on Monday, January 1, 0001)
Posted by dave  Contributed by
Return    


Copyright 2009 by Lynx Media, Inc.